There are plenty of former players who deserve to be inducted into the hockey hall of fame in 2019 and beyond. It is a unique honor because men and women both achieve enshrinement equally.

Hayley Wickenheiser will definitely make her way into the 2019 induction ceremony. She is a 7-time world champion and 4-time Olympic gold medalist.

Here are the other players who should receive their nomination as well for their play on the ice.

#1. Daniel Alfredsson

He won the Calder Trophy, scored 444 goals during his career, and accumulated 1,157 points. Although he only finished in the top 5 for the Hart Trophy once in his career, his consistency deserves to be acknowledged. He’s also won a gold and silver medal at the Olympics, scoring 27 points for Sweden. 

#2. Sergei Zubov

Zubov won a Stanley Cup with the Stars and the Rangers. He earned a gold medal with Russia during the 1992 Olympics. Although he never really had any individual recognition, his points-per-game average of 0.72 puts up a strong argument for enshrinement.

#3. Sergei Gonchar

He never earned a Norris Trophy during his career, though he finished in the top five a total of four times. Gonchar won a Stanley Cup with the Penguins as well, totaling 811 points with a total six teams. He’s also won silver and bronze at the world championships and the Olympics. The numbers are there, but without the individual hardware? It might be a tough call to put him in there.

#4. Dan Boyle

The Florida Panthers signed him after he went undrafted. Then he was shipped to Tampa Bay after three seasons for a fifth-round pick. He would go on to finish fourth in points for defensemen between 1998-2018, win a Stanley Cup in 2004, and lead Canada to an Olympic gold medal in 2010.

#5. Alexander Mogilny

He played 990 games in the NHL, accumulating a total of 1,032 points throughout his career. Mogilny even scored 76 goals in a season once. There is also the fact that his defection from Russia to be in the NHL was a league-first that makes him a compelling case for induction, although no hall of fame has ever voted in two players from his country with the same class.

#6. Jeremy Roenick

Roenick is another one of those players who was always consistent, fierce to play against and never earned individual glory. He did have 1,216 total points (including 513 goals), but there were a lot of other great centers that took the ice during his time. If he has some advocates on the committee, then he should get in. If not, then the lack of a Stanley Cup might come back to haunt him.

Many other great hockey legends deserve enshrinement in the hall of fame, like Vincent Lecavalier, Patrik Elias, Brad Richards, and Doug Wilson. Who do you think should be inducted into the hockey HOF in 2019?